Discover Brantford Blog

And the Brantford Sports Council Winners Are…

And the Brantford Sports Council Winners Are…

On Wednesday, February 7th, the Brantford Golf and Country Club was the setting for the annual event that brings together local youth sport, shines a light on all the incredible activities they contribute to the community, and honours their great achievements.

The 13th annual Brantford Sports Council Youth Sports Recognition Banquet handed out hardware in 20 categories.  The event’s keynote speaker was Peter Baxter, Director of Athletics and Recreation Wilfrid Laurier University and President of the Ontario University Athletics.  The event focusses on youth sport and its contribution to our community’s well-being, pride and determination.

The following awards were handed out.  All nominees are listed with the winner denoted with an * and in bold:

The Phyllis Gretzky Memorial Award – Female Youth Leadership
Nicole Kelly (girls hockey)
*Emily Rickwood (girls hockey)
Holly Taylor (multi-sports)
Alexa Windle (track and field)

The Frank Bricker Memorial Award – Male Youth Leadership
*Cole Belkwell (track and field)
Reece Doumani (baseball)
Dylan Szczur (multi-sports)

The Jimmy Wilkes Memorial Award – Team of the Year
BCI Mustangs senior girls basketball team
Brantford Galaxy U15 girls soccer team
*Brantford City Soccer Club U18 girls soccer team

The John Macklin Memorial Award – Coach of the Year
*Todd Andrew (multi-sports)
Sean Doucette (track and field)
Leo Raposo (soccer)

The Adrian Scherders Memorial Award – Sportsmanship and Dedication
Jacob Alway (flag football)
*Meghan Josling (Special Olympics track and field)
Bridget Kwasnik (multi-sport)
Sebastian Paulins (swimming)

The George Churchill Memorial Award – Sports Volunteer of the Year
Dave Fielding (hockey)
Crosby Gibson (swimming)
*Connie Pomerleau (baseball)
Michelle Smith (girls hockey)

The George Jones Memorial Award – Lifetime Sports Volunteerism
Rob Coleman (soccer)
*Cathy Drinkwater (girls hockey)
Frank Vieira (soccer)

The Jack Calbeck Memorial Award – Lifetime Sports Sponsorship
Brant News
Millards Chartered Professional Accountants

Dave Levac Award – The Award of Excellence for Sports Officiating
*Neil Macdonald (lacrosse)
Michael Roche (Special Olympics)
George Wittingham (soccer)

The Frank Tomlin Memorial Award – Sportsperson of the Year
*Aaron Carpenter (rugby)


Congratulations to all the winners and to the incredible nominees. It’s never easy to pick just one…so when it comes to this community…they are all winners. Thank you to the Brantford Sports Council for continuing this event and looking forward to more great sport accomplishments in 2018!

Brantford Sports Council:


Sport Tourism , Brantford Sports Council Youth Sports Recognition , Sports , Awards




Search Posts

Connect With Us

Blog Categories

Recent Blogs

Blog Archives