Discover Brantford Blog

CSTA Now Accepting Nominations for 2019 PRESTIGE Awards

CSTA Now Accepting Nominations for 2019 PRESTIGE Awards

Created in November 2000 through a partnership with the Canadian Tourism Commission, CSTA (Canadian Sport Tourism Alliance) has grown from 18 founding members to over 500 members including 200+ municipalities, 250+ national and provincial sport organizations, 20+ educational institutions and a variety of product and service suppliers to the industry.  Sport tourism is now the fastest growing segment of the tourism industry.

One of the CSTA’s key objectives is to market Canada internationally as a preferred sport tourism destination.  Canada has a long and proud history of hosting international sport events including three Olympic Games, two Pan American Games, four Commonwealth Games and a variety of single sport world championships.

The CSTA leverages its expertise and leadership as a catalyst to grow the $6.8 billion a year sport tourism industry in Canada (Statistics Canada, 2016), promoting the development of partnerships between events rights holders and host cities.  Other activities of the CSTA include sharing best practices, measuring the economic impact of sport events and enhancing the profile of sport tourism. 

Nominations for the PRESTIGE Awards are open until December 3, 2018, at 8:00 p.m.  For more information, including nomination categories, guidelines and forms, please visit their website:

Don’t forget to save the date for the 2019 PRESTIGE Awards Presentation presented by Saskatoon Sports Tourism and the PRESTIGE Awards Networking Reception & Luncheon presented by IHG on Wednesday, March 20, 2019 in Ottawa.



PRESTIGE Awards , CSTA , Canadian Sport Tourism Alliance , Sport Tourism




Search Posts

Connect With Us

Blog Categories

Recent Blogs

Blog Archives